Tech Guys Love Applications That Work Well Together

I have now signed up for, and looked at, a good half dozen iPhone apps and even more web sites that I can use to track my activities.

On the website tracking side, I think the Nike+ site is horrible (my opinion, others may love it), and both DailyBurn and RunKeeper seem to spend lots of screen space telling you about how the site would be cooler if you just upgrade. Dailymile, however, lets me track walking, running, swimming, cycling, and even add my own categories. There are some things I wish it did better, but I think it’s still better than anything else I’ve found out there. And it’s free, and doesn’t (so far) bug me to upgrade to a paid version. I also really like the Lifetime Stats that show me how many TV’s I have powered, and how many donuts I’ve burned, since I started exercising.

A lot of the iPhone apps I tried all depended on GPS to work, which is a problem because I’m still trying to make it around an indoor track before I venture outside to run. I kind of liked iTreadmill for all uses inside, but then RunMeter (which I already liked) just added an “indoor” setting so it is no longer worthless without GPS. RunMeter also connects nicely with dailymile, so I now have a winner!

Leave a Reply

