I Really Feel Like A Runner Now

I just got back from my 5k run, and looking at my previous post, it hit me – I had just casually mentioned “tapering down” by running a 5k.

When I started three months ago, I could not make it one lap around an indoor 200m track. And now my pace is 21% faster than when I started. It’s still a back-of-the-pack pace, but that’s 21% faster outside than my beginning pace was inside.

Writing this blog – really just for myself – has helped me to focus. But support from random strangers has also been a big help. A guy at my Wellness Center, that I had seen but never spoken to, asked had I lost weight, and told me to keep it up. A guy in Iowa I have never met has offered encouragement for my first 10k.

So to anyone who stumbles across this blog, remember – you never know when that stranger might be thinking negative thoughts, or getting discouraged. Maybe your simple word of encouragement will be all it takes to get them over their hump or through their pain, or just help them get out of bed tomorrow morning and keep being an athlete!

2 thoughts on “I Really Feel Like A Runner Now

  1. Great progress, I know exactly what you mean. I started running in January on the C25K programme, but could only manage 15 second intervals. I did a 10k in May and a half marathon in October.

  2. Reminds me of one of my favorite running quotes… “If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.” –John Bingham

    Congrats on your progress!

Leave a Reply

