Today I Hit A Wall

Today was supposed to be a 7.5 mile run, up from last week’s 7 miles. I was aiming for a nice easy 10:30 pace, down some from the 11:00’s I had been hitting, and was hitting it for the first four miles. Then mile five dropped to 11:00, but it had a bunch of uphill in it, so I tried to get back on pace in mile six. Except I dropped to 11:30 on mile six, then my legs just stopped at mile 6.78. I walked for about a hundred yards, started to run, and my legs just refused.

So my first long run where my body has won the contest with my brain, about quitting. I’ve been able to fake out my body so far, telling myself “I’ll just do one more mile, then stop” and then not stopping. But not this time.

Full disclosure here does require me to mention there was alcohol involved last night, and I was running a little over an hour after a pretty big breakfast. So maybe those are both valid reasons, and maybe they’re more excuses than reasons – I’m not sure which. Or maybe it’s because I was doing 30 seconds per mile faster than my normal long runs, for the first 4 miles.

I can see I’m making progress, going back looking at my Sunday runs. I got a heart rate monitor for Christmas, and these are some stats since then. I’ve been able to maintain pace and cadence, while running longer each week, and my heart rate is getting much better.

(I hate that WordPress seems unable to handle a simple table – anyone know a way?)

Date . Cadence . . HR . . . . . Pace . . . . Miles
1/1 . . . . . 83 . . . . 160 . . . . . 11:14 . . . . 3.7
1/12 . . . . 82 . . . . 153 . . . . . 11:10 . . . . 4.5
1/27 . . . . 83 . . . . 153 . . . . . 11:12 . . . . 5.5
2/9 . . . . . 83 . . . . 152 . . . . . 11:23 . . . . 7.0
2/17 . . . . 85 . . . . 146 . . . . . 11:00 . . . . 6.8

Anyway, that’s behind me now, and my first 5k of 2013 is next weekend. I use iSmoothRun on my iPhone, and track both 1 mile spits and 5k intervals, so I know that I hit a 33:07 5k interval, while not running at my (hoped for) 5k speed, so I’m still aiming to try to go sub-30.

Happy running everyone.

Leave a Reply

