Training for My 8k Race On the 25th

Now the thrill of finishing my 5k race with a PR of 28:18 has subsided, I am beginning to train for an 8k coming up on May 25th. It runs through the downtown area of Montgomery, which has a lot of hills. I wanted to run this race because we also have a half marathon here in October that runs some of the same hills, so I might as well get used to it.

I figured that if was totally out of gas by the end of my 5k, running about a 9:20 pace, I needed to train at a slower pace. So I picked 10:30 out of thin air as a starting point. Counting this weekend’s attempt, I have three weekends to run this course in preparation – the joy of running in your own town.

I finished my first attempt at a pace of 10:21 over a 5.33 mile course (I made a wrong turn part way through). Here is the elevation graph – Garmin Connect says a 436 foot total climb.
20130505-205045.jpg

Obviously, this is not your typical flat-as-a-pancake Florida run! But I ran it the entire way, and felt good at the end. Several times, as I crested one hill only to a dip and then yet another hill, I wondered what I had gotten myself in to. n the downhill stretches at the end had uphill stretches. But I would not allow my brain to tell my legs to stop, and by the end I was in a zone and having a blast. Endorphins are marvelous things!

Part of this I have to attribute to the fact we began working out on a whole series of weight machines at the Wellness Center. My aim is both strengthen my core for running, as well as strengthen my upper body for swimming harder. And Saturday showed it is helping.

Leave a Reply

