I Ran My First 8k Today

Today I ran the Jubilee Run for Cancer 8k race in downtown Montgomery. What a great way to start a Saturday. It was 55 degrees at 7:30am – in May, in Alabama, for goodness sake.

There were a lot of hills, but less than planned, due to a last minute street change courtesy of the Montgomery Police Department. The original route looked like this:
20130505-205045.jpg

The final race looked like this:
20130525-214022.jpg

The entire first mile was a pretty steep uphill, and next three miles were a slow mostly uphill run, until finally the last mile was almost all downhill to the finish. This was a great run, and my first 8k race, so I got a new PR!

I was hoping to beat 50 minutes, and I finished 8th out of 16 in my age group, with a 47:44, 116th out of 189.

Now I have four weeks until my first sprint triathlon.

One thought on “I Ran My First 8k Today

Leave a Reply

