I’ve Signed Up For My First Half Marathon

Last weekend I put my money down for the Montgomery Half Marathon on October 12. The longest I have run to-date is 8 miles, along with a couple of 7 milers, so I’m putting together a training plan. The good news is that I have a lot of time to slowly build my base miles and try to avoid a stupid injury.

Over the last five weeks I’ve been averaging three runs per week, with an average distance of about 3.5 miles, due to my focus on the 5k part of my Sprint Tri. Now I just need to bump my weekly miles from around 10 to somewhere closer to 20.

I also have a shoe decision that I need to figure out soon. My Sir Isaac Newton shoes, that I have been running in since I started last August, have over 425 miles on them. They have been good shoes to learn how to run, the website says they are “designed for all runner types for everyday base-building and slower-paced running“. But I’m not sure if I want to get another pair of Newton’s at the price they want. I’ve been looking at the Saucony Kinvara 3 because it’s also offered in a wide, and I can buy a pair for half what a Newton will cost. I have read they wear out faster, but at that price it seems like having a new shoe every six months is better than once a year, all other things being equal. Anyone worn Kinvara’s?

Leave a Reply

