Catch Up Posting

Wow, two weeks with no posts – I have been busy at work and busy working out. Oh, and watching the Tour de France for the last three weeks!

I have had to give up my August Sprint Tri, but have signed up for my first half marathon in October. Last week I did my longest bike ride yet, at 40 miles, and today I ran my longest run ever at 9 miles as I ramp up my training for the half marathon.

I’ve also signed up for my second year of the Montgomery Dragon Boat Challenge. If you ever see one of these in your area, get involved and join a team or start a team. It is an absolute blast.

You, Only Faster
I have also bought the Kindle version of Greg McMillan’s new book “You, Only Faster”. Hopefully this will help me to fine-tune my training. For the last couple of Wednesdays I have begun to run quarter mile hill repeats with my local running/biking/tri club. We do laps of a quarter mile up the hill, quarter mile back, rinse and repeat for 8 or 10 loops. Then I’m doing my long run on the weekend.

I also pulled the trigger on the Saucony Kinvara 3’s. I found them online for $69.00, and could not resist them at that price. The wide version I wanted only comes in this subtle muted color, so I will glow in the dark every morning I wear them!
Saucony Kinvara 3

Leave a Reply

