My New (to me) Triathlon Bike

This week a member of my triathlon group posted he had a 2003 Quintano Roo Tequilo tri bike for sale for $300. It is a 59cm frame and my road bike is a 58cm, so I jumped on it. It had been hanging around his garage for over four years, and he decided he finally needed to part with it. I know I’m not a threat to drop several thousand dollars on a tri bike, and yes it’s 10 years old bike, but it was a high end bike in its day. It has the original Profile Design tri bar, Shimano bar-end shifters, and Mavic Formula XS1 rims. It’s an aluminum frame with a carbon front fork, and now it’s mine!

Tequilo.jpgSo this is my new project bike. With my LBS doing all routine maintenance on my road bike for free, because I bought it there, I haven’t learned much maintenance beyond keeping the chain clean. I had gotten a new Spin Doctor bike stand for Christmas, and I’ve been putting it to good use. I spent about an hour hour cleaning the chain, cogs, and cassette of a LOT of accumulated grease and crap, got it all washed down, and took off the fraying handlebar tape. The tape on it was black, but the frame is such a great color blue, I went with blue tape. The tubes were also swapped out, not because they were bad, but because they are probably at least five years old. I’m keeping them both as my spares in my bike bag, so they re-purposed nicely. The photo shows plain old bike pedals, but I have a pair of Look Keo Plus pedals in-bound, since I already have them on my Trek road bike. Also have a Garmin speed/cadence sensor to put on. Total cost should stay just under $400, or about $2,000 less than a new tri bike.

Still left to do is to dial in the bike fit, but that will have to wait for another blog post.

Now it’s time to go out and RIDE!

Leave a Reply

